Red Light Management


April 21, 2021

Listen to Jordan’s cover of Jeff Buckley’s ‘Lover, You Should’ve Come Over’ here

Listen to ‘Late Night Tales: Jordan Rakei’ here

‘Jordan Rakei is an artist I absolutely love. His latest compilation from Late Night Tales is one of the great ones from the series’ Jamie Cullum, BBC Radio 2

‘It’s the perfect cocktail… An all-round beauty of an album’ Clash 

‘An intimate, beautifully-paced reflection of his deep-rooted musical connections… One of the best episodes to date… Spellbinding’ Blues & Soul 

’The atmosphere this Late Night Tales creates is simple enchanting’ Record Collector

Jordan’s three new tracks from the release – ‘Imagination’, ‘Count a Heart’, and his cover of ‘Lover, You Should’ve Come Over’ – have been featured on Spotify’s Brain Food (3,513,000 followers), Altar (366,000 followers), All New All Now (490,600 followers), Jazz UK (208,000 followers), New Music Friday UK (782,000 followers), Acoustic Soul (486,000 followers), New Music Friday AU & NZ, Midnight Chill, and Melantronic playlists, and enjoyed radio support from BBC 6 Music (Mary Anne Hobbs), BBC Radio 2, Jazz FM, and Selector Radio.

For Jordan Rakei’s Late Night Tales – the first mix of the acclaimed series’ 20th year – the 28-year-old modern soul icon effortlessly stamps his own jazz and hip-hop driven sound all over this gorgeous array of handpicked tracks. A beautifully layered blend that is mirrored in the music he’s made, it comes as no surprise that such a supremely gifted songwriter should deliver a mix that is all about the song.

I wanted to try and showcase as many people as I knew on this mix,” says Rakei. “My idea of Late Night Tales was to distil a series of relaxing moments; the whole conceptual sonic of relaxation. So, I was trying to think of all the collaborators and friends that I knew, who’d recorded stuff with this horizontal vibe. Plus, I was also trying to help my friends’ stuff get into the world. I know the story of Khruangbin blowing up after appearing on the series (in fact, I think that’s how I discovered them). So, the main idea was to create a certain atmosphere, but also to help some of my favourite collaborators and buddies to give their songs a little push out into the world. Hope you like it.”

‘Late Night Tales: Jordan Rakei’ tracklisting:

  1. Fink – “Covering Your Tracks”
  2. Alfa Mist – “Mulago”
  3. Charlotte Day Wilson – “Mountains”
  4. Moreton feat. Jordan Rakei – “Count A Heart” (Exclusive new track)
  5. Puma Blue – “Untitled 2”
  6. Connan Mockasin – “Momo’s”
  7. C Duncan – “He Came From The Sun”
  8. Oso Leone – “Virtual U”
  9. Joe Armon-Jones and Maxwell Owin – “Idiom” (feat. Oscar Jerome)
  10. Snowpoet – “Eviternity”
  11. MARO – “Forever & Always”
  12. Homay Schmitz – “Speak Up”
  13. Bill Laurance – “Singularity”
  14. Jordan Rakei – “Lover, You Should’ve Come Over” (Exclusive Jeff Buckley cover version)
  15. Jordan Rakei – “Codex” (Exclusive Radiohead cover version)
  16. Cubicolor – “Counterpart”
  17. Jordan Rakei – “Imagination” (Exclusive new track)
  18. Alejandro González Iñárritu – ”Imagination” (Exclusive spoken word piece)