Red Light Management


May 30, 2023

They say time flies when you’re having fun, so it’s not too surprising we’re already entering the 20th volume of the GarciaLive series. The new installment is a doozy, diving into an oft-requested era not previously explored on any prior Garcia archival collection: the early 1980’s. Set for release on June 30th, GarciaLive Volume 20: June 18th, 1982 Cape Cod Coliseum presents the complete, previously unreleased Jerry Garcia Band performance in The Bay State’s vacationland – plus 45+ minutes of additional incendiary, uncirculated recordings captured on June 1st, 1981 at The Stone in San Francisco.

The early 80’s marked a transitional period for the Jerry Garcia Band. After beginning the decade with the lean & mean quartet showcased on After Midnight and GarciaLive Volume One, Garcia & John Kahn would go on to experiment with personnel configurations expanding the line-up considerably. By the time the Jerry Garcia Band rolled into the Cape Cod Coliseum co-headliners Bobby & the Midnites, the line-up included Grateful Dead bandmate Bill Kreutzmann (drums), Melvin Seals (organ), Jimmy Warren (electric piano) and Liz Stires & Julie Stafford (backing vocals). While the co-headline format limited each group to a single 90-minute set, Garcia’s 8-song set packed plenty of punch. The requisite “How Sweet It Is” opener wastes no time getting down to business with a galloping tempo punctuated by crisp solos from Garcia, Warren, & Seals. The relative rarity “Valerie,” marking its first appearance here on an archival release, and extended, show-stopping takes on “Dear Prudence” and “Don’t Let Go” follow to the crowd’s obvious delight. Other highlights from Cape Cod include a poignant take on Dylan’s “Simple Twist of Fate” and the freshly written “Run for the Roses.”

For the first time in the series, GarciaLive Volume 20 also includes a bit of filler. We turned to the Jerry Garcia Band’s June 1st, 1981 performance at The Stone in San Francisco to select four standouts from the previously uncirculated/unheard recordings including a high-octane performance of “After Midnight,” “Deal -> Tangled Up in Blue,” and Jimmy Cliff’s “Sitting In Limbo.”

GarciaLive Volume 20: June 18th, 1982 Cape Cod Coliseum is now available for pre-order at Garcia Family Provisions in advance of its June 30th release. The 2-CD set or digital download is available a la carte or bundled with a special t-shirt and/or limited edition poster designed by Christopher Capotosto at StyleProof who also provided the new look for the series’ packaging.

Track List:


1) How Sweet It Is (To Be Loved by You)
2) Valerie
3) Dear Prudence
4) Mississippi Moon
5) Don’t Let Go
6) Simple Twist of Fate


1) Run for the Roses
2) They Love Each Other

June 1st, 1981
The Stone, San Francisco, CA

3) Sitting in Limbo
4) After Midnight
5) Deal ->
6) Tangled Up in Blue