Red Light Management

Bruce Hornsby’s New Album Non-Secure Connection Out Now to Widespread Critical Praise

August 17, 2020

Non-Secure Connection,the new album from award-winning pianist, singer and songwriter Bruce Hornsby is out now to critical praise; listen/share it here.

The new music continues to receive widespread acclaim;


Listen to the interview HERE


Listen to Hornsby’s “Artist to Artist” conversation with James Mercer HERE

Listen to the interview/performance HERE

“With last year’s Absolute Zero and his new album Non-Secure Connection, Hornsby leaves little doubt that he’s releasing some of the finest work of his career. Both are steeped in the melodicism of pop but informed by indie rock, contemporary classical, and Hornsby’s sly wit and progressive politics. On Connection, his various interests are in perfect balance.”

“Gorgeous follow-up to last year’s hit”

“Beneath the experimental vocals and ‘melodic angularity’ of his synth lines, there are some wonderful tunes on Non-Secure Connection.”

“Bruce Hornsby continues to push boundaries with restless spirit.”

“The Shins mastermind James Mercer doesn’t make guest appearances often, but when a fellow genius beckons, he answers the call.”

“‘Bright Star Cast’ is a smooth, funky, percussive song that brings a utopian message and gives all its musicians chances to put in serious work.” “[‘My Resolve’ is] a gleaming and cinematic song.”

“‘Bright Star Cast’ is a rollicking funk-rock number that’s indebted to the work of George Clinton.”
“The collaboration with James Mercer is gloriously old-school.”

Non-Secure Connectionis more than a follow-up to Absolute Zero; instead, it’s a continued flow of boundless inspiration that begins and ends in completely unexpected places.”


Composing for writer and director Spike Lee, Hornsby would often feel that the certain atmospheric quality of a “cue” he’d written should be developed into a song. His music changed when he started using his “cues” as the genesis of his songs. About this unique approach, Hornsby notes, “It takes my music to a place that I like that sets it apart from other things I’ve done. I’m often looking to make a sound that I haven’t heard before and find a place in what I guess is the context of popular song for some new information.” Hornsby’s continued growth as a musician enables him to build upon and explore new musical techniques. On Non-Secure Connection,he’s created something different that touches ona broad range of themes, from civil rights to computer hackers, mall salesmen and the Darwinian aspects of AAU basketball.

“The new album’s chromaticism and dissonance quotient is exactly twice as high (three songs featuring that language compared to one and a half on the last record),” says Hornsby of Non-Secure Connection. “I feel like my music has never been a part of any trend that defined any era of music during my 34 years of doing this. I may be wrong, but that’s how it feels to me.”

Predominantly produced by Hornsby, the 10-track album includes added production from Justin Vernon (Bon Iver), Brad Cook (Sharon Van Etten, Hiss Golden Messenger), Wayne Pooley (Bon Iver, Jack DeJohnette)and Tony Berg(Phoebe Bridgers, Andrew Bird, Aimee Mann), who Hornsby credits as the album’s “aesthetician and ombudsman.” Non-Secure Connectionalso includes musical contributions from Vernon, James Mercer, Jamila Woods, Vernon Reid,Leon Russell, Rob MooseandHideaki Aomoriof yMusic, The Orchestra of St. Hanks (Frost School/Univ. of Miami), Hornsby’s longtime band The Noisemakersand more. The tracks “Non-Secure Connection”and “Porn Hour” were co-written with Chip DeMatteo and“Anything Can Happen” was co-written with Russell, who appears thanks to a demo that he and Hornsby recorded together more than 25 years ago.

Based out of Williamsburg, VA, Hornsby first rose to national prominence with The Way It Is, his 1986 Grammy-winning debut album with The Range. The title track became the most-played song on American radio in 1987 while Tupac Shakur’s timeless song “Changes” builds on “The Way It Is” and set the stage for many subsequent versions of the track, including Polo G’s current single “Wishing For A Hero.” In 1991, Hornsby collaborated with Bonnie Raitt, playing on her iconic hit “I Can’t Make You Love Me.” Additionally, Hornsby was a part-time member of the Grateful Dead from September 1990 to March 1992, performing over 100 concerts in America and Europe. He has written six full film scores for Spike Lee including his recent Netflix series She’s Gotta Have It, and contributed music to four others, including 2018’sBlacKkKlansman. Last year, Hornsby released his acclaimed album, Absolute Zero, which featured collaborations with Vernon, yMusic, The Staves, Blake Mills, Jack DeJohnette, Sean Carey and more.

The 13-time Grammy nominee has solidified his status as a highly sought-after collaborator. Hornsby’s own 21 albums have sold over 11 million copies worldwide, and he has appeared on over 100 records including releases with Bob Dylan, Don Henley, the Grateful Dead, Ricky Skaggs, Bob Seger, Chaka Khan, Brandon Flowers, Bonnie Raitt, Sting, Mavis Staples, Willie Nelson and more.


  1. Cleopatra Drones
  2. Time, The Thief
  3. Non-Secure Connection
  4. The Rat King (featuring Rob Moose)
  5. My Resolve (featuring James Mercer)
  6. Bright Star Cast (featuring Jamila Woods and Vernon Reid)
  7. Shit’s Crazy Out Here
  8. Anything Can Happen (featuring Leon Russell)
  9. Porn Hour
  10. No Limits