Red Light Management


January 10, 2013

New York, NY (January 9) – On March 12­, Artists Den Records and EMI Music in conjunction with Blue Note Records will release Amos Lee: Live from the Artists Den on DVD. A live album of music from this concert will also be available for download on January 9th exclusively here. This epic show was filmed during a special, intimate performance at the historic Fox Theatre in Tucson, Arizona.  Selections from the show aired nationwide on public television’s Live from the Artists Den, the hit music series featuring acclaimed artists performing in extraordinary settings.

Now released in full for the first time, the DVD features bonus interview clips and concert footage not included in the television broadcast, including guest appearances by local heroes Calexico (who also appeared on Lee’s most recent album Mission Bell, which was also produced by the band’s Joey Burns) and the Silver Thread Trio and a stunning rendition of Willie Nelson and Ray Charles’ “Seven Spanish Angels.”

Amos Lee: Live from the Artists Den is the seventh concert DVD release from Artists Den Entertainment, following Robert Plant & the Band of Joy: Live from the Artists Den, which debuted in the Top 5 of the Billboard Music DVD charts. This product is available for pre-order at the Artists Den store and Amazon.

Since the release of the Amos Lee album in 2005, the Philadelphia-born and -based former schoolteacher has been one of his generation’s most celebrated songwriters. After being named one of Rolling Stone’s “Top 10 Artists to Watch,” Lee quickly went on to tour with such giants as Bob Dylan, Merle Haggard, Paul Simon, and Elvis Costello. His next two albums—Supply and Demand (2006) and Last Days at the Lodge (2008)—continued to extend his audience and his reputation, and he’s gone on to collaborate with everyone from Willie Nelson and Norah Jones to Lucinda Williams and
Zac Brown. 2011’s Mission Bell was a dramatic leap forward for Lee, debuting at
#1 on the Billboard Top 200 and garnering the best reviews of his career.

The performance captured in Amos Lee: Live from the Artists Den was filmed at the Fox Theatre, which opened in 1930 as Tucson’s premier venue for vaudeville and film. Shuttered and left to decay for 26 years, the newly renovated Fox reopened its doors on New Years Eve in 2005. On a sweltering night in the desert, Amos Lee made a triumphant return to Tucson, the city where he recorded Mission Bell. The subsequent concert ranged from solo showcases to arrangements for a dozen musicians and featured highlights from Lee’s latest album, as well as some of the finest songs from
his catalogue.

“It’s just an incredible opportunity to be in these kinds of venues,” Amos Lee says in the interview included in the film. “There’s so much history in these rooms – not only for the music, but just for the life that’s passed through them … All of these things kind of factor in to that moment you step on stage.”

About the Artists Den

Live from the Artists Den is a three-time New York Emmy®-nominated music television series that features popular recording artists performing in non-traditional settings throughout North America. Live from the Artists Den aired its 5th season nationally on public television in 2012, has expanded digitally through Hulu, Pandora, and Vevo, and is now broadcast internationally in Germany, Australia, New Zealand, Canada, Israel and Latin America. Featured artists have included Adele, Mumford & Sons, The Killers, Robert Plant, Norah Jones, Kid Rock, Ringo Starr, Raphael Saadiq, Death Cab For Cutie, Tori Amos, and Elvis Costello. Featured venues have included Graceland, the first art museum in America, a Masonic temple, a former Archdiocese cathedral, a 1930s silent movie theater, the world’s oldest merchant sailing vessel, the New York Public Library, and the Metropolitan Museum of Art.

Track List:

Amos Lee: Live from the Artists Den

1. El Camino

2. Supply and Demand

3. Street Corner Preacher

4. Keep It Loose, Keep It Tight

5. Cup of Sorrow

6. Flower

7. Skipping Stone

8. Out of the Cold

9. Violin

10. Truth

11. Low Down Life

12. Jesus

13. Behind Me Now

14. Windows Are Rolled Down

15. Night Train
16. Seven Spanish Angels