Red Light Management

Luke Temple Announces New Album, A Hand Through The Cellar Door, Out November 11th on Secretly Canadian, and Shares Debut Single, “The Birds Of Late December”

September 12, 2016

Luke Temple, the creative mind behind Here We Go Magic, will release his stunning new folk album, A Hand Through the Cellar Door, on November 11th via Secretly Canadian. Three years since the release of Temple’s last solo album, Good Mood Fool, A Hand Through the Cellar Door is, in many ways, his most straightforward collection of song-storying tunes to date. Throughout, he creates small, confident stories with a massive scope. There are tales of dysfunctional, broken homes and of dysfunctional, broken people. Debut single, “Birds of Late December,” with its fluttering, nimble fingerpicking, paints an exacting but impressionistic portrait of divorce through the eyes of an exceptionally wistful child.

But this being Temple and all, nothing is really ever so straightforward. The arrangements, kept to a minimal drums/guitar/bass/string set-up here, expand and contract in unexpected ways. Temple writes with the eye of a painter like Eric Fischl. Whereas Fischl will put a subtle provocative image in the margins of a piece to create a feeling of imbalance, Temple will add a guitar hiccup or a just-behind-the-beat string section to create a sensation of everything being slightly off. And in that imbalance, both artists show us grace. While the tales Temple weaves are bleak, the aura of hope never quite fades from the picture. He turns the tragedies of human folly into a celebration of our eccentricities.

Listen to Luke Temple’s “The Birds Of Late December” 


A Hand Through The Cellar Door Tracklisting:

  1. Estimated World
  2. The Birds Of Late December
  3. Maryanne Was Quiet
  4. Smashing Glass
  5. The Case of Louis Warren
  6. The Complicated Men of the 1940s
  7. Ordinary Feeling
  8. The Masterpiece Is Broken


Luke Temple online: