Red Light Management


July 29, 2020



“The trio’s self-titled debut album sounds like the first airing of lost classic rock record” – Clash 9/10

“Absolutely exquisite” – The Line Of Best Fit 8/10

“It’s frequently beautiful, from the fragile, almost-whispered opener Bad Feeling to the cinematic sweet of Broken Tambourine” – Q Album of the Month ****

“a wise and charming record” – DIY ****

“Why does this spin-off sound so fresh?” – The Guardian ****

“A bold and classy debut” – NME ****

Last month, Muzz released their self-titled debut, “an album that bears the tide marks of its creators — [Matt] Barrick’s jazzy swing, multi-instrumentalist [Josh] Kaufman’s soft warmth, [Paul] Banks’s instantly identifiable baritone — but it defies easy categorization” (The Fader) – and one of 2020’s most critically appreciated releases, so far.

Today, the longtime friends and collaborators present a video for the laid back and nostalgic ‘Summer Love’. Watch HERE. Described by Lauren Laverne as “a current obsession of mine” on BBC 6 Music, ‘Summer Love’ sees muted organ and flute drift along as the song rides out on the main vibe and vocal line by Banks:“Iʼm in the race / Iʼm on the get-go / I wanna skate / I want the XO / Summer love / Summer love ends / Silence is sung we wonʼt remember”.

The video combines, says Banks, “footage Matt shot a few years ago of a deserted drive-through theater, with clips we individually generated during lockdown and the majestically psychedelic collage work of the great Andrew McGranahan. It’s what we feel is a nice visual poem to accompany the song. Rather than a summer lockdown document, we aimed more to emulate the work of Truffaut, Fellini, or Cassavetes and to capture three stories of romance and solitude. Lofty aspirations, humble result; but we hope you enjoy it even a fraction as much as we did creating it.”

Additionally, Muzz recently released a third instalment in a series of live recordings, performing ‘Everything Like It Used To Be’. WatchHERE.

The debut album from Muzz features previous singles ‘Knuckleduster’, ‘Red Western Sky’, ‘Broken Tambourine’ and ‘Bad Feeling’.

Muzz Tracklist:

  1. Bad Feeling
  2. Evergreen
  3. Red Western Sky
  4. Patchouli
  5. Everything Like It Used To Be
  6. Broken Tambourine
  7. Knuckleduster
  8. Chubby Checker
  9. How Many Days
  10. Summer Love
  11. All Is Dead To Me
  12. Trinidad